Explore the timeline of Humanities Kansas from 1972 to today View Timeline

Skip Navigation
Get Involved
Grants & Programs About
Contact Donate

Get Involved



Background Image Humanities Kansas 50th Proclamation 2022

By Proclamation: 50 Years of Humanities Kansas

Governor Laura Kelly proclaimed 2022 as the 50th Anniversary of Humanities Kansas, making it the most recent in a five-decade long history of gubernatorial proclamations supporting the humanities. In 1975, Governor Robert Bennett, flanked by staff and board members of the then-Kansas Committee for the Humanities, signed a proclamation declaring March as Humanities Month in Kansas. 

What came next? Over the years, gubernatorial proclamations for statewide events and commemorations, like Chautauqua and the Kansas statehood sesquicentennial, raised awareness of the importance of the humanities in the lives of Kansans. 50 years later, the governor still recognizes humanities month in Kansas, with a few small changes. National Arts and Humanities Month takes place in October and HK staff and board join the Kansas Creative Arts Industries Commission for the proclamation signing. 


1975 Humanities Month Proclamation signing


Governor Carlin signs proclamation for Chautauqua

Governor John Carlin (center) proclaimed June 1984 as "Chautauqua Month" in Kansas. Right to left: Arthur C. Townley (Orval Van Deest), Thomas Jefferson (Clay Jenkinson), Thomas Walsh (Michael Blayney), Stands First (Kevin Locke, not visible), Mary Elizabeth Lease (Susan Kelso), Marion Cott, Barbara Magerl, Larry Jochims, Reed Whitaker, Violet Van Deest. 


Governor Finney signs Arts and Humanities Month Proclamation

Governor Joan Finney signs a National Arts and Humanities Month proclamation. Kansas Humanities Council staff and board members in the photo include Michele Reese, Marion Cott, Ruth Madell, and Don Biggs.


Governor Bill Graves signs proclamation

Governor Bill Graves signs a National Arts and Humanities Month Proclamation. Kansas Humanities Council staff and board members in the photo include Michele Reese, Ruth Madell, Morey Sullivan, Deborah Pomeroy, and Marion Cott.


Governor Sam Brownback signs proclamation

Kansas Humanities Council (now Humanities Kansas) Executive Director Julie Mulvihill was there as Governor Sam Brownback signed a proclamation for Kansas 150, the sesquicentennial of Kansas statehood. 


Governor Kelly signs 50th proclamation for Humanities Kansas

Governor Laura Kelly signed a proclamation declaring 2022 as the 50th Anniversary of Humanities Kansas. Joining her at the ceremony were (left to right): HK board members Kim Goodknight, Denise McNabb, Renee Duxler, Kim Perez, and HK Executive Director Julie Mulvihill. 


Kansans Have
Joined the Movement