Special Announcement: Coronavirus (COVID-19) Program Resources

Skip Navigation
Get Involved Grants & Programs About
Contact Donate

Get Involved



Background Image Image shows Humanities Kansas logo and a graphic of an outstretched hand with a heart above it. Reads "CARES Act Relief Grants, 79 grants awarded, $463,000 distributed, 56 communities, 46 counties"

CARES Act Grant Recipients

Humanities Kansas Awards 79 CARES Act Relief Grants

Humanities Kansas recently awarded $463,000 in CARES Act Relief Grants to 79 Kansas cultural organizations experiencing distress due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Funding for these grants was provided by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) as part of the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security (CARES) Act economic stabilization plan. Funds awarded provide emergency general operating support and staff retention in the humanities and cultural nonprofit sector.

Humanities Kansas received $463,000 in funds to distribute and received more than $1 million in requests from Kansas cultural organizations.

“HK is pleased to offer these CARES Act grants to community cultural organizations across the state,” said Jason Wesco, chair of the Humanities Kansas Board of Directors. “The value of these organizations as repositories of local memory and as vehicles to connect us – virtually or in-person – is critical to the strength and culture of our communities. We wish these grantees and all cultural organizations in our great state the very best. Ad Astra per Aspera.


Awards represent 79 organizations across 56 communities and 46 counties:

Abilene Public Library   

Ashland Library

Atchison Amelia Earhart Foundation

Atchison Public Library 

Bonner Springs City Library

Boot Hill Museum – Dodge City

Brown County Historical Society – Hiawatha

Caldwell Public Library 

Cimarron City Library    

Coffeyville Historical Society

Dickinson County Historical Society – Abilene

Dorothy Bramlage Public Library – Junction City

Douglas County Historical Society/Watkins Museum of History – Lawrence

Dyck Arboretum of the Plains – Hesston

Edwards County Museum – Kinsley

Effingham Community Library

Eisenhower Foundation – Abilene

Emmett Kelly Historical Museum – Sedan

Emporia Public Library

Eudora Area Historical Society

Finney County Historical Society – Garden City

Flint Hills Discovery Center Foundation – Manhattan

Florence Historical Society

Fort Wallace Memorial Association – Wallace

Franklin County Historical Society – Ottawa

Freedom's Frontier National Heritage Area – Lawrence

Gardner Historical Museum

Goddard Public Library

Haskell Indian Nations University Foundation – Lawrence

Hays Public Library

Hesston Public Library  

Horton Public Library    

Independence Public Library

Jackson County Historical and Genealogical Society – Holton

Kansas African American Museum – Wichita

Kansas Aviation Museum – Wichita

Kansas Barbed Wire Collectors Association – La Crosse

Kansas Cosmosphere and Space Center - Hutchinson

Kansas Historical Foundation – Topeka

Kansas Post Rock Limestone Coalition – Lucas

Kauffman Museum – North Newton

Kingman County Historical Society – Kingman

KMUW – Wichita

Lawrence Public Library Friends & Foundation

Lebanon Community Library

Linwood Community Library

Little House on the Prairie Museum – Independence

Lyon County History Center – Emporia

Mahaffie Stagecoach Stop & Farm – Olathe

mamafilm – Wichita

Martin & Osa Johnson Safari Museum – Chanute

Mary Cotton Public Library – Sabetha

Mid-America All-Indian Center – Wichita

MidAmerica Nazarene University – Olathe

Miners Hall Museum – Franklin

Monticello Community Historical Society

Museum of World Treasures – Wichita

National Orphan Train Complex – Concordia

Onaga Historical Society and Museum

Ottawa Library

Pony Express Museum – Marysville

Reno County Historical Society – Hutchinson

Republic County Historical Society Museum – Belleville

Rice County Historical Society – Lyons

Richmond Public Library

Scott County Historical Society/El Quartelejo Museum – Scott City

Shawnee County Historical Society – Topeka

Smoky Hill Museum – Salina

Storytime Village, Inc. – Wichita

Strataca: Underground Salt Museum – Hutchinson

Thomas County Historical Society – Colby

Tonganoxie Community Historical Society

Tonganoxie Public Library

Trading Post Historical Society – Pleasanton

Tri-State Antique Engine & Threshers Association – Bird City

University Press of Kansas – Lawrence

Wabaunsee County Historical Society – Alma

Wichita County Library – Leoti

Wyandotte County Historical Society and Museum – Bonner Springs


Kansans Have
Joined the Movement